Life is Sweet like an Ice Cream Cone

“Technically, just like with the rings of a tree or Carbon-14, it had to be possible to measure the passage of time with the melting of vanilla ice cream.” -Herman Koch, The Dinner.

Earlier in the summer, I made a list of all the books I wanted to read before school starts on the notes application in my iPhone . With titles from The Wolf of Wall Street by Jordan Belfort to Karen Mack’s Freud’s Mistress, the list was similar to that of the ice cream shop we went to last night: not overwhelmingly extensive in options, but satisfyingly diverse in content.

I just finished Herman Koch’s The Dinner yesterday morning.
A spontaneous buy at the Chicago O’Hare airport, I perused two bookstores before finding the perfect novel to follow my recent wrap-up with Sienna Brooks and Robert Langdon in a tireless search for an unknown plague in Dan Brown’s inferno.

Brief Thoughts on novel: In short, Koch’s writing was incredible throughout the book, but I wasn’t in love with the ending as it lacked the meticulous creativity that was so present in the numerous preceding pages. However, Koch reaches a vast audience in that his diction is genuine and the breakdown of the plot (which takes place over the course of a single dinner) is presented in the chronological constituents of the characters’ four-course meal, starting with the aperitif.

Last night, we made a post-dinner trip to a local ice cream shop on the island. We unanimously ordered single-scoops of various flavored ice cream on sugar cones that we took outside the shop to enjoy in the evening’s warmth. The outdoor temperature got to our ice cream faster than we could, so we tried to finish our cones quickly before the heat melted our delectable desserts into a gooey mess.

With the story still fresh in mind, I was reminded of the above quote last night while eating my ice cream cone.  I often find myself rushing through life and focusing more on the destination rather than the journey to said destination. I over-analyze the steps it takes to reach a goal and although I find accomplishing my goals extremely rewarding, I can’t help but feel disappointed that I couldn’t find the same enjoyment in the steps it took to get there.

So to keep this post short and sweet like last night’s Moose Tracks ice cream, here’s what I’m trying to say:
Just as one enjoys the process of eating ice cream despite the heat that is causing it to melt quickly, so should one enjoy life’s various situations no matter the speed. Even if you are rushing through your journeys and things are moving at a faster pace than you are comfortable with, remember to enjoy every second of it as if you are enjoying an ice cream cone on the Turks and Caicos islands.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

